How to Open a Fresh Coconut!

6 Apr

020A few months ago, I found myself hanging out in my living room with some friends, passing around a fresh coconut with three straws.

As I drank the sweet juice, a balmy early spring breeze meandering through my screen door, all I could think was “Ahhhhh.”

I felt like I was on a tropical island, just having come inside after a day at the beach.

That evening was actually what inspired me to share this blog, the idea that food can transport you to another time and place.

If you’re thinking, “I want to feel like I’m on a tropical island, too!” Then here is what you need to do:

1. Hunt down a young coconut (Aihua International Market!).

2. Watch the video.

3. Sharpen your machete. Get out your biggest kitchen knife. Or go wild with your teeth and your bare hands. It’s up to you.

2 Responses to “How to Open a Fresh Coconut!”

  1. Jules April 6, 2013 at 12:00 pm #

    If I should ever find myself stranded on a tropical island, at least now I know I’ll never starve! 🙂 Where’s the outtakes vid??! The world should see the full ravaging of these innocent coconuts! 😉

    • lagraham82 April 11, 2013 at 3:58 pm #

      You are so right! I do need an outtakes video!! Glad we could help increase your survival skills 😀

Leave a Reply

