Chinatown Philly

25 Feb

004

So a couple of friends and I took a road trip to Philadelphia over the weekend to go to The Justice Conference. It was exhausting, since we spent 30 of the 70 hours we were gone on the road and encountered snow, ice, and car trouble.

One redeeming part of the trip, however, was that Chinatown was only 3 blocks away! We ate Dim Sum one afternoon where I was so excited I completely forgot to take pictures. Oops.

The servers pushed their carts of steaming little delicacies around and we picked whichever plates we wanted. My friend chose exotics such as jellyfish and shark fin dumplings, the latter of which are controversial because the sharks are killed just for their fins.

I stuck with more normal fare such as Wu Gok, or taro dumplings, one of my favorites of all time (pictured above).

Taro is a root vegetable that is brown and rough on the outside and lavender with purple veins on the inside. When cooked and mashed, it has a very similar consistency to a potato.

To make the dumplings, the steamed and mashed taro is stuffed with a mixture of pork, shrimp, mushrooms, onions, garlic, and seasonings. When it is deep fried, the outside puffs up and gets crispy. Oh. My. Goodness. Words cannot describe.

I have never cooked the dumplings myself. I have only devoured them greedily for decades anytime I get the opportunity. But they are on my list of “recipes to try ASAP.” Hopefully I will work up the nerve to try my hand at them soon.

One Response to “Chinatown Philly”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Chinatown Philly, Part 2 | Foodie Girl - February 28, 2013

    […] our crazy journey to get to Philly over the weekend, there was no way I was leaving the city without raiding Chinatown. Plus I […]

Leave a Reply

